Massachusetts Private Investigator License

Massachusetts Private Investigator License

Do you aspire to become a private investigator in Massachusetts? If so, then the licensing will be your initial crucial step towards the goal. Discover the state requirements, the process of application, and other relevant information in this article.

PI License Lookup

In the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, to work as a PI you must apply to the Colonel of the State Police. If you need to find information about authorized PI or guards around your area, you can visit the LPDAM website and type in the search section. You may also apply for a membership once you’re a licensee.

If you wish to see the full list of accredited licensees and agencies in Massachusetts, go by the link.


To become a private investigator in MA you must get familiar with the perquisites of licensing. Here are the main requirements of the licensure:

  • Be at least 18 and have US citizenship, and preferably an MA driver’s license
  • Present three citizens as your referees who can describe you as good moral character and honest (They shouldn’t be related by blood and should know you for more than 3 years.)
  • Have proof of three years of experience as an investigator OR
  • Ten years of expertise working as a patrol officer
  • Not convicted of any felony across the US (especially the violation of section 99 and/or 99A of MA General Laws)

In addition to the above-mentioned points, we should also inform you that insurance coverage is necessary. To clarify, you should have at least $5,000 coverage. Moreover, you will also undergo a background check when you sign the Authorization for the Release of the Info form.

Application Process

If you meet all the demands that are mentioned above, you are ready to take the crucial steps. Let’s break down all the mandatory actions you should take when applying for the licensure:

  • Firstly, visit the MSP Certification Licensing Services and create a new account.
  • Secondly, start filling out all the sections, including the indication of your three referees from your community.
  • Thirdly, attach proof of your experience, the authorization of release of your information, and surety bond forms that must be signed and notarized. You should possess a document identifying $5,000 bond coverage.
  • Lastly, pay the processing fees (In the next paragraphs, we cover all the necessary charges of licensure.).

Processing Fees

The private investigator license in Massachusetts costs $550. Apart from this, you pay for the attached forms and add $5,000 surety bond coverage.

In case you decide to carry a gun, you must finish the appropriate courses and pay an additional $100 for the certificate. The firearm permit is valid for a year and after that, you can renew it in person with an extra $100 payment. You should make a visit to the Dep. of Criminal Justice Information Services 3 months prior to the expiration date.

Mailing Address

Once you completed the whole application package, send it to the following address along with the required fees:

Department of State Police
Certification Unit,
485 Maple St, Danvers, MA 01923

Your application undergoes a review process. Allow up to 6 weeks to analyze it and after that, you will receive either a rejection letter or a call for an interview.


Your  PI license should be renewed annually. You will get a renewal notification before the expiration date to take appropriate actions. In order to renew it, you should pay $150 and present all the updated forms of the licensure.

Mary H

Mary H

Being a skilled creative writer and SEO content writer, with 2+ years of experience I can't imagine any other profession to fulfill my life as much as writing does. As a proud member of geek culture, I enjoy reading, writing, watching Sci-Fi gems, while also advocating the involvement of young, bright-minded girls and women in STEM research. Latter was largely the result of working at UNESCO Chair, Life Sciences International Postgraduate Educational Center as an editor of scientific journals.